University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

LAW 2514 - Intellectual Property Law

Career: Undergraduate Law
Units: 3
Term: 3220
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3 hours per week
Restriction: Available to LLB and B.Criminology with B.Laws and BArts Advanced with B.Laws students only
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Pre-Requisite: LAW 1506 or LAW 1511
Incompatible: LAW 2059
Assessment: Typically to include interim assessment case analysis and an exam.
Syllabus:

This course aims, through a treatment of laws relating to patents, trademarks, confidential information, designs and copyright, to examine the protection provided by the law in regard to ideas, inventions, information and other forms of creative effort. The course also aims to explore how the law must balance interests and protect investment while taking into account public welfare and technological developments. The course will explore the interrelationship of the different regimes of protection, and will also consider practical issues arising in the commercialisation or exploitation of intellectual property. Students completing this course should have a basic grounding in the law of the area, its limitations, policies, and objectives, including the basic features of the various systems of protection.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3220 Mon 06/08/2012 Fri 31/08/2012 Fri 14/09/2012 Fri 26/10/2012


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Seminar
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20049 SE05 30 1 24 Jul - 24 Jul Tuesday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 228, Tutorial Room
7 Aug - 7 Aug Tuesday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 228, Tutorial Room
21 Aug - 21 Aug Tuesday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 228, Tutorial Room
4 Sep - 4 Sep Tuesday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 228, Tutorial Room
2 Oct - 2 Oct Tuesday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 228, Tutorial Room
16 Oct - 16 Oct Tuesday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 228, Tutorial Room
23331 SE01 30 FULL 23 Jul - 23 Jul Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
6 Aug - 6 Aug Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
20 Aug - 20 Aug Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
3 Sep - 3 Sep Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
1 Oct - 1 Oct Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
15 Oct - 15 Oct Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
23332 SE02 30 3 30 Jul - 30 Jul Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
13 Aug - 13 Aug Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
27 Aug - 27 Aug Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
10 Sep - 10 Sep Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
8 Oct - 8 Oct Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
22 Oct - 22 Oct Monday 1pm - 3pm Ligertwood, 316, Tutorial Room
23333 SE03 30 1 26 Jul - 26 Jul Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
9 Aug - 9 Aug Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
23 Aug - 23 Aug Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
6 Sep - 6 Sep Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
4 Oct - 4 Oct Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
18 Oct - 18 Oct Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
23334 SE04 30 FULL 2 Aug - 2 Aug Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
16 Aug - 16 Aug Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
30 Aug - 30 Aug Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
13 Sep - 13 Sep Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
11 Oct - 11 Oct Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
25 Oct - 25 Oct Thursday 10am - 12pm Ligertwood, 314, Flinders Room
Automatic Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
23330 LE01 150 3 23 Jul - 10 Sep Monday 9am - 11am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
1 Oct - 22 Oct Monday 9am - 11am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre