University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

CHEM 1101 - Foundations of Chemistry IA

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Restriction: Not available to students with SACE Stage 2 Chemistry Subject Achievement Grade of C+ or greater
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Incompatible: CHEM 1100, CHEM 1510 & CHEM 1511
Assessment: Exam, practical work, online summative work, lecture tests
Syllabus:

States of matter; physical properties; elements, compounds and mixtures; the periodic table; structure and bonding; physical and chemical change; chemical calculations: mole concept, significant figures, stoichiometry, concentrations; molecular shape; intermolecular forces; gas laws; balancing equations; acids, bases and pH; volumetric analysis; chemical equilibrium.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 18/03/2019 Sun 31/03/2019 Fri 10/05/2019 Fri 14/06/2019


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
14526 LE01 400 146 4 Mar - 4 Mar Monday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
5 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 11am - 12pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
6 Mar - 10 Apr Wednesday 9am - 10am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
18 Mar - 8 Apr Monday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 3 Jun Monday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 11am - 12pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
1 May - 12 Jun Wednesday 9am - 10am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
18791 LEC0 170 53 No details available
Note: Enrol in this class if you do not wish to attend the lectures. The lecture recordings will be placed online each day AFTER the lecture has been held. Be aware that there are two lecture tests during the semester that you may wish to attend.
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10158 WR10 44 2 15 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
3 May - 14 Jun Friday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Viticulture & Oenology degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
10985 WR02 45 5 12 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Food & Nutrition Science degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
13437 WR01 45 1 12 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Food & Nutrition Science degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
13438 WR12 45 3 15 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 4pm - 5pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
3 May - 14 Jun Friday 4pm - 5pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Viticulture & Oenology degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
13439 WR04 41 4 13 Mar - 10 Apr Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
1 May - 12 Jun Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Agricultural Sciences degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
13440 WR05 45 1 13 Mar - 10 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
1 May - 12 Jun Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
13442 WR07 44 2 14 Mar - 11 Apr Thursday 9am - 10am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
2 May - 13 Jun Thursday 9am - 10am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
14158 WR03 43 2 13 Mar - 10 Apr Wednesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
1 May - 12 Jun Wednesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Applied Biology degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
14159 WR11 41 2 15 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
3 May - 14 Jun Friday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Note: Waite Campus students in Ba. Viticulture & Oenology degree are encouraged to enrol in this workshop.
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
11174 PR06 74 5 7 Mar - 7 Mar Thursday 3pm - 4pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
21 Mar - 21 Mar Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 Apr - 4 Apr Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
2 May - 2 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
16 May - 16 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
30 May - 30 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
14528 PR02 71 4 5 Mar - 5 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
19 Mar - 19 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
2 Apr - 2 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
30 Apr - 30 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
14 May - 14 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
28 May - 28 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
14529 PR03 74 7 6 Mar - 6 Mar Wednesday 11am - 12pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
20 Mar - 20 Mar Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
3 Apr - 3 Apr Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
1 May - 1 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15 May - 15 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
29 May - 29 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
14530 PR04 72 2 6 Mar - 6 Mar Wednesday 4pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
20 Mar - 20 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
3 Apr - 3 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
1 May - 1 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15 May - 15 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
29 May - 29 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
14531 PR05 72 18 7 Mar - 7 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Johnson, 106, Laboratory
21 Mar - 21 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 Apr - 4 Apr Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
2 May - 2 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
16 May - 16 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
30 May - 30 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
14781 PR08 48 4 8 Mar - 8 Mar Friday 3pm - 4pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
22 Mar - 22 Mar Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
5 Apr - 5 Apr Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
3 May - 3 May Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
17 May - 17 May Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
31 May - 31 May Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory