University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

BIOLOGY 1101 - Biology I: Molecules, Genes and Cells

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 5.5 hours per week
Restriction: Available to students in the Bachelor of Food and Nutrition Science, BSc (Biomedical Science), BSc (Biotechnology) and students in other programs who meet the pre-requisite requirements
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: SACE Stage 2 Chemistry with Subject Achievement grade of at least C+ or equivalent
Incompatible: BIOLOGY 1101ND, BIOLOGY 1101BR, BIOLOGY 1401, BIOLOGY 1510
Assessment: End of Semester exam, MCQ and theory tests, practical assessment and tutorial assessment
Syllabus:

The study of biology covers an incredibly wide range of themes; from simple molecules, cells, organelles and tissues to whole organisms and their interaction with the environment and their ability to evolve. The aim of this course is to introduce many of these concepts, thereby providing the foundation for further studies in semester 2 courses and more specialist level II/III courses. Topics to be covered include the chemicals of life, macromolecules, the role of nucleic acids in genetic information transfer, protein synthesis, lipid membranes and the structure of cells, storage and utilisation of energy, meiosis and mitosis.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 18/03/2019 Sun 31/03/2019 Fri 10/05/2019 Fri 14/06/2019


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
14435 LE01 512 81 4 Mar - 4 Mar Monday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
8 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
18 Mar - 8 Apr Monday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
29 Apr - 3 Jun Monday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
3 May - 14 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10549 PR04 69 4 6 Mar - 6 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20 Mar - 20 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
3 Apr - 3 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
1 May - 1 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
15 May - 15 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
29 May - 29 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
10550 PR05 82 18 5 Mar - 5 Mar Tuesday 4pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
19 Mar - 19 Mar Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
2 Apr - 2 Apr Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
30 Apr - 30 Apr Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 May - 14 May Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
28 May - 28 May Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
10551 PR06 80 11 7 Mar - 7 Mar Thursday 9am - 10am The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
21 Mar - 21 Mar Thursday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
4 Apr - 4 Apr Thursday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
2 May - 2 May Thursday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
16 May - 16 May Thursday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
30 May - 30 May Thursday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
13316 PR07 66 11 4 Mar - 4 Mar Monday 2pm - 3pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
18 Mar - 18 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
1 Apr - 1 Apr Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
29 Apr - 29 Apr Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
13 May - 13 May Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
27 May - 27 May Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14436 PR01 69 12 5 Mar - 5 Mar Tuesday 10am - 11am The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
19 Mar - 19 Mar Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
2 Apr - 2 Apr Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
30 Apr - 30 Apr Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 May - 14 May Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
28 May - 28 May Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14437 PR02 75 12 5 Mar - 5 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 3pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
19 Mar - 19 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
2 Apr - 2 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
30 Apr - 30 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 May - 14 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
28 May - 28 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14438 PR03 67 9 6 Mar - 6 Mar Wednesday 10am - 11am The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20 Mar - 20 Mar Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
3 Apr - 3 Apr Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
1 May - 1 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
15 May - 15 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
29 May - 29 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12009 WR06 87 4 8 Mar - 8 Mar Friday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
22 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
3 May - 31 May Friday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
12858 WR02 90 15 4 Mar - 4 Mar Monday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
18 Mar - 8 Apr Monday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
29 Apr - 27 May Monday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
12859 WR03 92 26 8 Mar - 8 Mar Friday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
22 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
3 May - 31 May Friday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
12860 WR04 92 26 4 Mar - 4 Mar Monday 12pm - 1pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
18 Mar - 8 Apr Monday 12pm - 1pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
29 Apr - 27 May Monday 12pm - 1pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
12861 WR05 88 12 5 Mar - 5 Mar Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
19 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
30 Apr - 28 May Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
14196 WR07 72 7 5 Mar - 5 Mar Tuesday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
19 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
30 Apr - 28 May Tuesday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room