University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 1008UAC - Physical Aspects of Nature I

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Incompatible: PHYSICS 1008BR, PHYSICS 1100BR, PHYSICS 1100UAC
Assessment: Written exam, workshop preparation, practical work & In-Semester tests
Syllabus:

This course provides an introduction to some of the principles of physics and their applications in agricultural and biological sciences. It is intended for students who have not studied SACE Stage 2 Physics, and who require familiarity with Physics principles and applications in their other studies. The course introduces concepts of force, energy, thermal physics, fluids and DC electricity, introduction to practical problem solving. Students who achieve a grade of Credit or better in this course and have completed SACE Stage 2 Mathematical Studies (or equiv.) may enrol in the semester 2 course PHYSICS 1201 Physics for the Life and Earth Sciences IB.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 18/03/2019 Sun 31/03/2019 Fri 10/05/2019 Fri 14/06/2019


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
14905 LE01 26 7 4 Mar - 4 Mar Monday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
5 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
8 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 2pm - 3pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
18 Mar - 8 Apr Monday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 3 Jun Monday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
3 May - 14 Jun Friday 2pm - 3pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
14907 PR03 13 1 3 Apr - 3 Apr Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
1 May - 1 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
15 May - 15 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
29 May - 29 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
14908 PR04 13 6 27 Mar - 27 Mar Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
8 May - 8 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
22 May - 22 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
5 Jun - 5 Jun Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory