University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 2534 - Electromagnetism II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: PHYSICS 2510, MATHS 2102 or MATHS 2201, MATHS 2101 - Other students may apply to Head of Physics for exemption
Co-Requisite: MATHS 2202 (if MATHS 2101 has not been completed)
Assessment: Tests, tutorial preparation, written exam
Syllabus:

This course extends the level I introduction to electricity and magnetism. Circuit theory: revision of Kirchhoff's laws, RLC and AC circuits; complex impedance and AC circuits; filters, transfer functions. Vector analysis; index notation, line, surface and volume integrals; curvilinear coordinates; Gauss and Stokes theorem, Gauss's law, Dirac delta function; vector rotation and tensors. Electrostatics and electric potential, Poisson and Laplace equations, boundary value problems and method of images, magnetostatics, electromagnetic induction, Maxwell's equations, electromagnetic waves.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 12/08/2019 Sat 31/08/2019 Fri 20/09/2019 Fri 01/11/2019


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20183 LE01 90 19 29 Jul - 16 Sep Monday 11am - 12pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
31 Jul - 31 Jul Wednesday 9am - 10am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
1 Aug - 19 Sep Thursday 10am - 11am Badger, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
2 Aug - 20 Sep Friday 10am - 11am Badger, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
21 Aug - 21 Aug Wednesday 9am - 10am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
11 Sep - 11 Sep Wednesday 9am - 10am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
7 Oct - 28 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
10 Oct - 31 Oct Thursday 10am - 11am Badger, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
11 Oct - 1 Nov Friday 10am - 11am Badger, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
16 Oct - 16 Oct Wednesday 9am - 10am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
Note: The Wednesday 9am lecture slot is used for Level II lecture tests and is shared with Physics IIB, Classical Physics II and Electromagnetism II.
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20417 WR02 30 3 9 Aug - 20 Sep Friday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
11 Oct - 1 Nov Friday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
20418 WR01 30 5 6 Aug - 17 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
8 Oct - 29 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
29048 WR03 25 6 7 Aug - 18 Sep Wednesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
9 Oct - 30 Oct Wednesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
23489 PR01 42 9 7 Aug - 11 Sep Wednesday 1pm - 5pm Physics, 132/133, Laboratory
23490 PR02 42 4 9 Aug - 13 Sep Friday 1pm - 5pm Physics, 132/133, Laboratory