University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

BIOLOGY 1202UAC - Biology I: Organisms

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Contact: Up to 6 hours per week
Restriction: Available only to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assumed Knowledge: BIOLOGY 1101 or BIOLOGY 1102 or BIOLOGY 1401
Incompatible: BIOLOGY 1201. Only BSc (Biotechnology), BSc (Molecular Biology) and BSc (Biomedical Science) students can do both BIOLOGY 1202 and 1201
Assessment: Exam, assignment, practical reports
Syllabus:

This course focuses on the biology and diversity of multicellular organisms, with evolution as the central theme. It addresses key questions in biology: What are plants and animals? How do they evolve? How do they function? How do they interact with other organisms and the environment? These questions are answered by analysing the scientific evidence that supports current theory

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 09/08/2021 Wed 18/08/2021 Fri 17/09/2021 Fri 29/10/2021


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20156 PR07 0 FULL 5 Aug - 5 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
19 Aug - 19 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
2 Sep - 2 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
16 Sep - 16 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 Oct - 14 Oct Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
28 Oct - 28 Oct Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20157 PR06 2 1 5 Aug - 5 Aug Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
19 Aug - 19 Aug Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
2 Sep - 2 Sep Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
16 Sep - 16 Sep Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 Oct - 14 Oct Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
28 Oct - 28 Oct Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20158 PR05 0 FULL 3 Aug - 3 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
17 Aug - 17 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
31 Aug - 31 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 Sep - 14 Sep Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
12 Oct - 12 Oct Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
26 Oct - 26 Oct Tuesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20159 PR04 0 FULL 4 Aug - 4 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
18 Aug - 18 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
1 Sep - 1 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
15 Sep - 15 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
13 Oct - 13 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
27 Oct - 27 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20160 PR03 2 2 2 Aug - 2 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
16 Aug - 16 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
30 Aug - 30 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
13 Sep - 13 Sep Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
11 Oct - 11 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
25 Oct - 25 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20161 PR02 2 2 3 Aug - 3 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
17 Aug - 17 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
31 Aug - 31 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 Sep - 14 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
12 Oct - 12 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
26 Oct - 26 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20162 PR01 5 1 3 Aug - 3 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
17 Aug - 17 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
31 Aug - 31 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
14 Sep - 14 Sep Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
12 Oct - 12 Oct Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
26 Oct - 26 Oct Tuesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
24124 PR11 26 8 3 Aug - 3 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
17 Aug - 17 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
31 Aug - 31 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
14 Sep - 14 Sep Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
12 Oct - 12 Oct Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
26 Oct - 26 Oct Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for offshore/interstate students only. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
24812 PR08 2 1 6 Aug - 6 Aug Friday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20 Aug - 20 Aug Friday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
3 Sep - 3 Sep Friday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
17 Sep - 17 Sep Friday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
15 Oct - 15 Oct Friday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
29 Oct - 29 Oct Friday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20163 WR06 2 FULL 6 Aug - 17 Sep Friday 12pm - 1pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
15 Oct - 22 Oct Friday 12pm - 1pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
20164 WR05 2 2 6 Aug - 17 Sep Friday 1pm - 2pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
15 Oct - 22 Oct Friday 1pm - 2pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
20165 WR04 2 2 4 Aug - 15 Sep Wednesday 10am - 11am Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
13 Oct - 20 Oct Wednesday 10am - 11am Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
20166 WR03 2 2 4 Aug - 15 Sep Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
13 Oct - 20 Oct Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
20167 WR02 5 1 2 Aug - 13 Sep Monday 11am - 12pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
11 Oct - 18 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
20168 WR01 2 2 3 Aug - 14 Sep Tuesday 9am - 10am Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
12 Oct - 19 Oct Tuesday 9am - 10am Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
20897 WR08 2 2 26 Jul - 13 Sep Monday 1pm - 2pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
11 Oct - 18 Oct Monday 1pm - 2pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
24127 WR09 26 8 2 Aug - 13 Sep Monday 1pm - 2pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
11 Oct - 18 Oct Monday 1pm - 2pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for offshore/interstate students only. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Tuition
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
29699 TT03 20 14 30 Jul - 17 Sep Friday 5pm - 7pm 132 Grenfell St, 316, Teaching Room
8 Oct - 29 Oct Friday 5pm - 7pm 132 Grenfell St, 316, Teaching Room
29700 TT02 20 20 31 Jul - 18 Sep Saturday 4:30pm - 6:30pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
9 Oct - 30 Oct Saturday 4:30pm - 6:30pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
29701 TT01 20 2 26 Jul - 13 Sep Monday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
4 Oct - 25 Oct Monday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Automatic Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20155 LE01 50 26 26 Jul - 13 Sep Monday 12pm - 1pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
28 Jul - 15 Sep Wednesday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
30 Jul - 17 Sep Friday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
6 Oct - 27 Oct Wednesday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
8 Oct - 29 Oct Friday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
11 Oct - 25 Oct Monday 12pm - 1pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: OFFSHORE or INTERSTATE STUDENTS are able to enrol in this course and study remotely, however alternative practical activities will need to be completed in consultation with the Course Coordinator.