University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

LAW 2501 - Australian Constitutional Law

Career: Undergraduate Law
Units: 3
Term: 4110
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3 hours per week
Restriction: Available to LLB and B.Criminology with B.Laws and BArts Advanced with B.Laws students only
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Pre-Requisite: LAW 1504
Incompatible: LAW 2003
Assessment: Typically will include participation in seminars, online quizzes, interim written assessment and exam
Syllabus:

The course discusses selected topics relating to the Australian constitutional system. Topics include Commonwealth and State legislative power, including constitutional interpretation; the process of characterisation and an examination of heads of power specified in s51 of the Australian Constitution; the legal relations between the Commonwealth and the States and the resolution of inconsistencies between laws; implications in The Australian Constitution; Commonwealth and State social and economic relations; and constitutional rights.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
4110 Mon 15/03/2021 Thu 25/03/2021 Fri 07/05/2021 Fri 11/06/2021


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Seminar
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10852 SE01 30 FULL 3 Mar - 3 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
17 Mar - 17 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
31 Mar - 31 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
28 Apr - 28 Apr Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
12 May - 12 May Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
26 May - 26 May Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
10853 SE02 30 1 10 Mar - 10 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
24 Mar - 24 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
7 Apr - 7 Apr Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
5 May - 5 May Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
19 May - 19 May Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
2 Jun - 2 Jun Wednesday 11am - 1pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
10854 SE05 30 FULL 4 Mar - 4 Mar Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
18 Mar - 18 Mar Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
1 Apr - 1 Apr Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
29 Apr - 29 Apr Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
13 May - 13 May Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
27 May - 27 May Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
10855 SE06 30 3 11 Mar - 11 Mar Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
25 Mar - 25 Mar Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
8 Apr - 8 Apr Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
6 May - 6 May Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
20 May - 20 May Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
3 Jun - 3 Jun Thursday 4pm - 6pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
10858 SE09 35 5 2 Mar - 2 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
16 Mar - 16 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
30 Mar - 30 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
27 Apr - 27 Apr Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
11 May - 11 May Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
25 May - 25 May Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: Priority will be given to remote students.
10859 SE10 35 3 9 Mar - 9 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
23 Mar - 23 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
6 Apr - 6 Apr Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
4 May - 4 May Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
18 May - 18 May Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
1 Jun - 1 Jun Tuesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: Priority will be given to remote students.
12289 SE04 30 FULL 10 Mar - 10 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
24 Mar - 24 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
7 Apr - 7 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
5 May - 5 May Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
19 May - 19 May Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
2 Jun - 2 Jun Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
12290 SE03 30 1 3 Mar - 3 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
17 Mar - 17 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
31 Mar - 31 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
28 Apr - 28 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
12 May - 12 May Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
26 May - 26 May Wednesday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 113, Teaching Room
13891 SE12 35 1 12 Mar - 12 Mar Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
26 Mar - 26 Mar Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
9 Apr - 9 Apr Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
7 May - 7 May Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
21 May - 21 May Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
4 Jun - 4 Jun Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
13892 SE11 35 FULL 5 Mar - 5 Mar Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
19 Mar - 19 Mar Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
1 Apr - 1 Apr Thursday 11am - 1pm Napier, 208, Lecture Theatre
30 Apr - 30 Apr Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
14 May - 14 May Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
28 May - 28 May Friday 11am - 1pm Napier, G03, Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10851 LE01 80 FULL 4 Mar - 8 Apr Thursday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 333, Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 10 Jun Thursday 2pm - 4pm Ligertwood, 333, Lecture Theatre
16403 LEC0 240 14 This class does not have any timetabled face-to-face sessions. Please check MyUni or contact your Course Coordinator for details.
Note: This lecture can be viewed online so has no location attached to it. See Myuni for details.