University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 7027 - Mathematical Foundations of Data Science

Career: Postgraduate Coursework
Units: 3
Term: Trimester 2
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 5 hours per week
Restriction: Not available to MMaSc students.
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Assessment: Exam, ongoing assessment
Syllabus:

This course introduces fundamental mathematical concepts relevant to computer science and provides a basis for further postgraduate study in data science, statistical machine learning, and cybersecurity. Topics covered are probability: sets, counting, probability axioms, Bayes theorem; optimisation and calculus: differentiation, integration, functions of several variables, series approximations; linear algebra: vector and matrices, matrix algebra, vector spaces; discrete mathematics and statistics: linear regression, linear least squares, regularisation. Applications of the theory to data science and machine learning will be developed.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Trimester 2 Mon 06/06/2022 Thu 09/06/2022 Fri 22/07/2022 Wed 17/08/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
33276 WR01 60 16 24 May - 16 Aug Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Computer Exercise
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
33271 CO02 45 28 25 May - 25 May Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
8 Jun - 8 Jun Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
22 Jun - 22 Jun Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
6 Jul - 6 Jul Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
20 Jul - 20 Jul Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
3 Aug - 3 Aug Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is delivered entirely online.
33272 CO01 45 18 27 May - 27 May Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM108, CAT Suite
10 Jun - 10 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM108, CAT Suite
24 Jun - 24 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM108, CAT Suite
8 Jul - 8 Jul Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM108, CAT Suite
22 Jul - 22 Jul Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM108, CAT Suite
5 Aug - 5 Aug Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM108, CAT Suite
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
33273 TU02 40 25 1 Jun - 1 Jun Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
15 Jun - 15 Jun Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
29 Jun - 29 Jun Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
13 Jul - 13 Jul Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
27 Jul - 27 Jul Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 6pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is delivered entirely online.
33274 TU01 40 11 3 Jun - 3 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
17 Jun - 17 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
1 Jul - 1 Jul Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
15 Jul - 15 Jul Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
29 Jul - 29 Jul Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
12 Aug - 12 Aug Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.