University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 7027 - Mathematical Foundations of Data Science

Career: Postgraduate Coursework
Units: 3
Term: Trimester 3
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 5 hours per week
Restriction: Not available to MMaSc students.
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Assessment: Exam, ongoing assessment
Syllabus:

This course introduces fundamental mathematical concepts relevant to computer science and provides a basis for further postgraduate study in data science, statistical machine learning, and cybersecurity. Topics covered are probability: sets, counting, probability axioms, Bayes theorem; optimisation and calculus: differentiation, integration, functions of several variables, series approximations; linear algebra: vector and matrices, matrix algebra, vector spaces; discrete mathematics and statistics: linear regression, linear least squares, regularisation. Applications of the theory to data science and machine learning will be developed.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Trimester 3 Mon 19/09/2022 Wed 21/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022 Wed 23/11/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
36338 WR01 40 29 5 Sep - 21 Nov Monday 1pm - 2pm Marjoribanks, 126, SANTOS Lecture Theatre
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Computer Exercise
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
36339 CO03 30 27 8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
22 Sep - 22 Sep Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
3 Nov - 3 Nov Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
17 Nov - 17 Nov Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
36340 CO02 30 28 8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
22 Sep - 22 Sep Thursday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
3 Nov - 3 Nov Thursday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
17 Nov - 17 Nov Thursday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
36341 CO01 30 24 6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
20 Sep - 20 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
4 Oct - 4 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
18 Oct - 18 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
1 Nov - 1 Nov Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
15 Nov - 15 Nov Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM105, CAT Suite
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
36342 TU03 30 28 15 Sep - 15 Sep Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
29 Sep - 29 Sep Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
13 Oct - 13 Oct Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
27 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
10 Nov - 10 Nov Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
24 Nov - 24 Nov Thursday 5pm - 6pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
36343 TU02 30 28 15 Sep - 15 Sep Thursday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
29 Sep - 29 Sep Thursday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
13 Oct - 13 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
27 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
10 Nov - 10 Nov Thursday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
24 Nov - 24 Nov Thursday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
36344 TU01 30 23 13 Sep - 13 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
27 Sep - 27 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
11 Oct - 11 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
25 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
8 Nov - 8 Nov Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
22 Nov - 22 Nov Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, 232, Teaching Room
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.